Today in Journalism

14 Jul

Every now and then, reporters need help rounding out their stories, especially on deadline.    Maybe you are doing a story on Harry Potter, and you need some sort of  anthropologist to talk about the generation of kids who grew up with the franchise.  So, you’d send out a request to a bunch of PR people, and hope that someone out there knows someone else who can help.  Or, maybe this happens:

Hi Molly,

I am not responding directly to your request, unfortunately I do not know anyone in this area. But I would love the opportunity to present to you an amazing story on a novel medical device in the diabetes area that will help millions better manage their glucose.

I believe you will find this to be very interesting.

Thank you for the consideration and I look forward to hearing back from you so we can discuss.

Best,

Napoleon*

REALLY?  I mean, what did he think was going to happen?

OOOOOOOHHHHH!!!!! “Hi Napoleon!  It’s Molly.  Can you talk?? OMG  I can’t wait to hear more about this glucose-managing-device.  It sounds AWE-SOME.  It saves time, but maybe even lives!   Speaking of timing, yours is PERFECT.  As you know, I’m working on this lame Harry Potter story for tomorrow but…I think maybe I’ll switch topics! Can we meet for lunch?  Can I have one??  I mean, I’m not diabetic but… I just can’t stop thinking about this thing!!!  I’m sure it’s just as magical and wonderful as a fantasy world full of beautiful teenagers who can fly.   Thank you so much for ignoring my request and leading me to what will surely be the best. segment. ever.  I owe it all to you.”

*Name has been changed to hide identity.  His real name was Joe.

One Response to “Today in Journalism”

  1. Daniel July 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Even if you did write about medical issues I’m pretty sure what he’s pitching would not be worth covering.

Go ahead, say it.

