Look At This Stuff, Isn’t it Neat?

9 Jun

So we’re going to the beach in August. This is what happens when Mazall plans the vacation:

Mazall: OMG can we play mermaids when we go to the ocean!?!?!?!?!

Claire: how do we play mermaids?

Mazall: OMG claire
you’ve never played mermaids???
Claire: i played “swimming” ?
Mazall: nope
ugh
SO
A. you have to have a mermaid name
B. you have to pick the color of your “tail” and hair sometimes if you want
Claire: mine will be “Beth”
Mazall: nope
lame mermaid name
Claire: Beth the mermaid!
Mazall: C. you MUST and i mean MUST swim with your legs closed together to mimic a “tail”
Claire: Beth the bald mermaid with a purple tail?
Mazall: D. then you dive for “pearls” while singing “part of your world” in your head
oh my god it’s the best!
Claire: and then what happens? do you find pearls and get rich and rule a mermaid kingdom?

Mazall: yup. anything you want
my merdad always made me stay home
so i would sneak out a lot
and then get in trouble
then my sister would rescue me
abusive relationships even as a young kid
Claire: Beth the bald mermaid has cancer and listens to Nickleback
:)
Mazall: OH and then when we got old enough we had merboyfriends
which was great
flirting with no one under water
while plugging my nose so water didn’t get up it
Claire: Beth’s boyfriend is named Trevor
7 Responses to “Look At This Stuff, Isn’t it Neat?”

  1. Meg June 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    What is a ‘good’ mermaid name?

    …oh gosh, Google has way too many answers for this question.

  2. mazz June 10, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    pearl and april were frequently coming up in my games with my sister. a little unoriginal, however.

    • molly June 10, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      I don’t know why I’m admitting this…but Maz…my sister and I played this in the pool growing up. We made an underwater mer-house and laughed at people with legs.

      • Claire June 10, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

        WHAT? you played this too?! why the f balls am I the Princess Cupcake Sparkle roommate?

      • mazz June 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

        THAT is why we are soul mates, Moll. I knew there had to be something….

  3. molly June 10, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    No! But I don’t want to be your soul mate!

    • Claire June 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

      Mer-souls

Go ahead, say it.

