All By Myself (I Want to Be)

11 May

Molly and Mazall are out of town, which means that for 36 hours I have the apartment to myself. Solitude is a rare treat in New York—there are people with you on the subway, people with you on the sidewalk, people with you in a cab (the cab driver!), people with you at work, people with you at restaurants, people with you at bars, people waiting in line before you in restrooms, and when you come home at night there are people waiting for you with complaints about boys and requests for a manicure.  One of these people is probably wearing stretch pants.

So when you find yourself alone, you really have to take advantage of it. I only have 36 hours to myself and so far most of those hours have been taken up by sleep and/or work.  But I’m using the few remaining hours to their fullest.  Here are some things I’ve been doing, re-inacted by the dog, Aggy*

Sit around the apartment in my bra

I also wear it on my head

Eat junk food, read trashy magazines and watch chick flicks

What will happen to Felicity and Noel?!

Read Molly’s diary

"Dear Diary, Someone keeps eating all of my ice cream."

Have a boy over

I feel awkward

Have two boys over

Phew, that was fun!

Mazall returns tomorrow night, at which time I will have to take Felicity out of the DVD player and put my shirt back on. But I bet if I ask nicely she’ll help me eat the ice cream. (The ice cream belongs to Molly.)

*The dog remains renamed to avoid confusion

7 Responses to “All By Myself (I Want to Be)”

  1. molly May 11, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    aw I miss you.

    • Claire May 11, 2010 at 3:08 am #

      Even though I read your totally real, not-made-up-at-all SECRET DIARY?!

      • Molly May 19, 2010 at 3:23 am #

        i like to make paper covers for my leather-bound journals

  2. Cara May 11, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    Fiona! Fiona is not a boy!

    (Wait, that chicken is named Fiona, isn’t it?)

    • Claire May 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      Wow, I can’t believe you remember…a video of a chicken from before you knew me.

      Technically, Fiona was my friend Kate’s chicken. Mine was named Scott.

  3. Marc May 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Wait, I don’t understand. You mean you guys don’t sit around in your underwear all the time, having pillow fights and complaining about boys?

    TV and movies have lied to me.

  4. noelle May 13, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Hahaha miss eating molly’s ice cream, actually it was girl scout cookies. But I left her the last one!

Go ahead, say it.

