This Week in Janice: Google Buzz

14 Feb

BUZZ!

Last week, Google unveiled Google Buzz, a sort-of-Twitter-sort-of-Facebook-sort-of-not feature on Gmail. When I first saw it, I was confused. Janice, it seems, is totally lost.  This morning I woke up to find the following three emails waiting for me in my inbox. (Sidenote: Do I get bonus points for blogging?)

From: Janice
Sent: 6:25 AM
Subject: what is this?
Now I have google “Buzz” and I am following 6 people without knowing anything about it? You are the only person following me-Why are you following me? And why just you? What does this mean? Are we going to buzz each other while you are at work? How bizarre. Please explain. Does this replace “IM”-ing? Is Google gonna read these buzzes or store them? Creepy? Take care, Love, Mom

From: Janice
Sent: 6:55 AM
Subject: what is this? pt 2

Do you know that I just read your email conversation with Christy. Sarah and the indubitably well informed and should be paid by Google Matt-I can become the Mom who spies on other people’s kids ! Why? Looking forward to your response. Take care, Love, MOM

From: Janice
Sent: 7:15 AM
Subject: 3rd message

Ignore previous messages. I am beginning to wrap my head around this techno marvel, “Buzz”. (Since the blue box won’t go away now that I clicked on it! Is it running in the background?Creepy.)
I think you should let all your buddies allow me to be their Buzz follower (as long as they do not follow me) and I could read about their lives, their problems, their relationships, and give advice, real time. I also could eventually expand to my own website- tentatively titled:”Fairy Godmother”- get it? -flying around in cyberspace, thanks to Buzz, saying:”Dump that guy, he’s no good for you” , and “Oh, you should buy it, even if you can’t afford it, you look so cute in it!,Go resell that pile of dirty old stuff in the corner that you never wear” etc., and saving you young persons all the heartbreak of daily life before you get your first wrinkles. (You’d all be even more brilliant, and I like to help people.Just as long as they don’t “follow” me back- I have to conduct business on this thing!)  And who doesn’t want a fairy godmother at their beck and call?  What do you think, Oh, first born??? T C L, MOM

7 Responses to “This Week in Janice: Google Buzz”

  1. molly February 14, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Before reading this I knew nothing about Google Buzz. I now feel like I know even less.

  2. molly February 14, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    and technically, aren’t you “only born”?

  3. Claire February 14, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I was going to say something about the “first born” phrase but then I thought, you know, that’s really a minor detail compared with some of the other lines of that email (“fairy godmother” ???)

  4. Cara February 15, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Janice should skip the Buzz part and just go straight to her own website.

  5. Marc February 15, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I feel like I’m an old man. This new fangled technology frightens and scares me. I don’t understand it and I don’t want to understand it! I’m going to go find a cloud I can shake my fist at.

  6. mazz February 17, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    why with this? i don’t get it. why do i want to follow someone on Buzz, Twitter, Facebook, Gmail status, Aim Status, blah blah blah BARF

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Week in Janice: Condiments, Computers and Commies « Claire & Molly’s World Wide Weblog - May 13, 2010

    […] is following me on Google buzz still T C Love, […]

Go ahead, say it.

