This Week in Janice: Post-It Notes

20 Dec

This was my childhood:  Every day I’d come home from school to find my bedroom door covered in a collage of newspaper clippings and post-it notes left by my mother. Anything she wanted to tell me—neighborhood gossip, annoying “finish your homework” reminders—would be written down and posted in an easy, eye-catching location. A daily sample might include a Weekly Standard article, a note about Jerry Garcia’s beard, something about the next door neighbor’s yard and a ridiculous request like “This weekend: dust light bulbs in guest bathroom!!” My friends loved coming over and reading Janice’s clippings. Some of them still ask about them.

Now that I don’t live with her, my mom emails me instead. But every time I return, the notes are waiting for me. Here’s what I found posted in my bedroom when I came home for Christmas.

Janice's notes

We have:  an article about copy editors, something about the public school district’s annual salary increases, a local development project, an article about the local writer’s colony (selected because we know one of the women in the accompanying photo and my mom wanted to point out that she ‘got chubby’) a request for more of Ben Folds’ music, and then these two gems:

And this, which is maybe the best thing my mother has ever asked of me:

9 Responses to “This Week in Janice: Post-It Notes”

  1. Marc December 20, 2009 at 7:05 am #

    I don’t think I could come up with three more random songs if I had a week to think about it. That is amazing.

    Also, your sweatshirt with an apparent cartoon wolf on it looks to be totally awesome. What is it?

    • Claire December 20, 2009 at 7:09 am #

      It’s a red hoodie I bought at a thrift store when I was 16 or 17. I found it when I was unpacking after moving into Molly/Maz’s and wore it on the airplane today. It says “MacArthur Marauders” on it. I’ve been stopped twice by people who actually went to this MacArthur school and they’re always so disappointed when I tell them I didn’t actually go there.

  2. molly December 20, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    why? what? huh?! Public school district???

    • Claire December 21, 2009 at 12:51 am #

      average public high school teacher’s salary around here is $95K. that’s why she posted it for me to see. so i’d feel poor.

  3. molly December 20, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    also, she totally crossed out “the” and replaced with “da”
    Janice wins.

    • Claire December 21, 2009 at 12:51 am #

      I KNOW! that note is perfection

  4. Ryan December 20, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Don’t overlook the importance of dusting lightbulbs. The dust can really obscure the light! Thanks, Janice, for bringing this national crisis to light!

  5. molly December 21, 2009 at 1:35 am #

    can Janice move to NYC so we can have a post-it of the week series?

  6. Noelle December 30, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    holy shit this has me on the floor. molly, why didn’t you ever do this for me? uhhhhhhhh

Go ahead, say it.

