Thumbs Up/Thumbs Down with Claire

29 Nov

It’s Thanksgiving weekend. I’ve spent three days in Florida with no one but old people to keep me company.  What else do I have to do?

Thumbs up: Lost Season 3. Okay, I really like Lost now.  Season one was pretty good. Season two was stellar. I’m now about 3/4ths of the way though season three and I’ll admit it, I am fully addicted invested. Yesterday, I refused to come to dinner because I still had 15 minutes of an episode left.

Thumbs down: I’m in Florida but it’s too cold to go to the beach

Thumbs up:

I made sweet potato casserole

Thumbs Down: Thanksgiving without any dressing.  We had a kitchen fiasco and it was ruined.

Thumbs up: Christmas!

Thumbs down: Christmas. Not ready yet.

Thumbs up: Beck’s Record Club project, which led me to download Skip Spence’s 1969 album “Oar.” I’m not sure how Skip Spence escaped my attention until now; it was a gross oversight. Thanks, Beck.

Thumbs down: My impending homelessness

Thumbs up: Living with Thomas’ record collection for two weeks.

Thumbs down: Not knowing how to get his record collection onto my laptop

Thumbs up: Yeasayer – “Ambling Alp”

Thumbs down: Russian train bombs

Thumbs up: Horseback riding for the first time in 2 years

Thumbs down: Not being able to walk straight the next day

A confused thumbs up: I don’t normally like OK Go, but I like this song.

Thumbs down: The Food Network. My dad and stepmom watch it. I don’t get it. Why do I want to watch someone else eat a hamburger?

Thumbs up: Beating my family at poker

I'm rich

Thumbs down: Realizing this was probably a fluke

Thumbs up: Having dinner with a 91-year-old woman who was a British spy during World War II

Thumbs down: Hitler

27 Responses to “Thumbs Up/Thumbs Down with Claire”

  1. mazall November 30, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    claire, i’ve never seen anything more mormon than tangerines and marshmallows in jell-o UNTIL your sweet potato casserole. marshmallows and veggies DO NOT MIX. eva. i still love you though. but if you ever make that for me i’ll throw it out the window. LYMI.

    • Claire December 1, 2009 at 12:19 am #

      First of all it’s not Mormon, it’s Southern. Second of all, it’s AMAZING. It also has bananas and pineapple juice in it. Pretty much the best thing ever.

  2. Molly December 1, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    I’m ACTUALLY southern, as in born and raised, and that just sounds gross. I’ll give it a try though.

    • Claire December 1, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

      that’s it, I’m emailing Janice. She’ll explain the casserole to you

  3. Molly December 1, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    the problem i’ve always had is the potatoes are already SWEET. So then you counteract that with even sweeter, faker, puffier sweetness? Much like monster trucks and cow tippin’, this does not compute.

    • mazall December 1, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

      i’m really having an issue agreeing with you just because we aren’t ever supposed to do that…. BUT, i gotta say, i agree with you on this one moll.
      claire, if you ever make this i’ll just feed it to agnes.

    • Claire December 1, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

      Bananas are sweet but does that mean you can’t dip them in chocolate? Hamburgers are meat but are they not better when topped with bacon?

      • Molly December 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

        but we are talking about SWEET POTATOES (a veggie) and MARSHMALLOWS (a fake food)

        AND ITS NOT A DESSERT!

  4. Claire December 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    I’m making this after I move in and you both have to try it.

    • mazall December 1, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

      nnnnnnnO! *plops on floor to pout*

  5. Molly December 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    I have to suffer through it every year. Though…………there’s no bananas or pineapple in ours……. but that just makes it WORSE. is it a fruit? is it a veggie? mineral?

  6. Erin December 1, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    bored at work, but just threw up in my mouth reading about this casserole. BUT, I will say marshmallows on sweet potatoes is as natural a pairing as Drew & a 40. The whole banana/ pineapple thing is where you lost me.

    • Molly December 1, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

      exactly. thank you E

  7. Marc December 1, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE? I don’t even know where to begin.

    Sweet Potato Casserole is a delicious treat and a Thanksgiving staple. I personally demolished approximately half of ours this year, though there were walnuts and no bananas.

    And this idea being bandied about that adding something sweet to an already sweet item is too much? Preposterous. Smores are nothing but
    mass quanities of sugar and chocolate and those are amazing.

    As far as any ragging on marshallows goes, that’s a joke too. Marshallows
    are a cornerstone of the candy food groups.

    After this and the cranberry sauce admission, I suggest banning Molly from any other talk about Thanksgiving foods. Maybe even all food talk.

    • Molly December 1, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

      False. You are still only talking about desserts. SPC IS NOT A DESSERT.

  8. menelaos December 2, 2009 at 1:58 am #

    That casserole sounds fantastic.

    Although you should probs add syrup on top pf it, since that *is* the fourth food group.

    You can eat breakfast for dinner, vice-versa, and we have all had brunch. Why is dessert philosophy limited to after dinner?

    • Claire December 2, 2009 at 2:06 am #

      Mene knows what he’s talking about. He’s a doctor.

  9. Sookie December 2, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    I think the casserole sounds delish. Feel free to make it my next trip Claire. Between Mene and myself I’m sure we could polish it off pretty quickly

  10. molly December 2, 2009 at 3:35 am #

    ugh. mene and tyler both cut out of my will

    • Sookie December 2, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

      Dont see the problem here

      Bananas – Good
      Pineapples – Good
      Sweet Potatoes – Good
      Marshmellows – Good

      4 good things all together cant be wrong

      • Claire December 3, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

        I knew there was a reason why Tyler and I decided to get married

  11. Drewpreme December 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    I’ll put my late Nana’s sweet potatoe casserole up against this. Flavor is so good we even lamented about possibly losing the recipe at her wake. Alas the tradition has been saved and we DO NOT put marshmallows on it…. However it does have about a pint of bourbon in them and we all know Bourbon > Marshmallows.

    • Erin December 4, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

      Drew, ohmigoodness, please make this for me next time you’re here. I’ll even buy you an OE to polish it off with.

  12. Ryan December 2, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    Like Marc, I don’t even know where to begin with this. I am quite andgry that I didn’t get in on this discussion when the gettin’ was good.

    That being said, Mormon? Southern? I’m a quasi-southern Mennonite, does that make me an expert, you bet your ass it does. I have had Sweet Potato Casserole with both marshmellows on top and without, it’s the only way I will eat a sweet potato. That horrible misnomer has always made me laugh because no one else in the world seems to notice that they taste like shit on their own.

    So if there is anyway that a human can make them taste good with copious amount of cinnamon and sugar (like Roberta), then I’m all about it 🙂

    • Claire December 2, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

      And this is why Ryan and I are soulmates

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Week in Janice: Sweet Potato Casserole Explained « Claire & Molly’s World Wide Weblog - December 3, 2009

    […] told Molly and Mazall about the sweet potato casserole dish and they had never heard of it. Mazall said that marshmallows and vegetables should never mix (a […]

Go ahead, say it.

