All by myself (don’t wanna be)

19 Jul

Molly is birthday-ing in Georgia, which leaves me to man the blog all by myself for an entire week.  What should I write about?

Here are some options:

'Willis' my ass

'Willis' my ass

1. Why Bruno wasn’t funny
2. I could have sworn Walter Cronkite was already dead
3. Central Park exercise etiquette, or: why weekend cyclists are total dickslaps
4. If my 3-day-old Chinese food is still edible
5. If I should be amused or horrified by the fact that astronauts left discarded food containers on the moon.
6. The startling accuracy of the tagline to Lindsay Lohan’s made-of-TV movie, Labor Pains
7. Why I’m pretty sure that this is Marc’s fault
8. I keep wanting to write about polio so that I can tag every post “polio” and make this the most popular polio-related blog on the Internet, but Molly won’t let me
9. The Willis Tower
10. My dog runs away from her own poop

11 Responses to “All by myself (don’t wanna be)”

  1. Drewpreme July 19, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    Songs about loneliness?

  2. Claire July 19, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    Harry Nilsson’s “One”
    The Beatles’ “Yer Blues”
    Silver Jews’ “Honk if You’re Lonely”
    Janis Joplin “Woman Left Lonely”

    your turn.

  3. Marc July 20, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    The Police – So Lonely
    Phantom Planet – Lonely Day
    Roy Orbison – Only the Lonely
    Ben Harper – Another Lonely Day

    pass.

  4. Drewpreme July 20, 2009 at 1:00 am #

    “Alone Again (Naturally)” – Gilbert O’Sullivan
    “One’s The Magic Number” – Jill Scott
    “Me, Myself, & I” – De La Soul
    “She’s Out Of My Life” – Michael Jackson

    *Bonus* “So Ronery” – Kim Jong Il, Team America Sdtrk

    Marc did like Kim Carnes or someone redo that Orbison song in the 80s?

  5. Claire July 20, 2009 at 1:45 am #

    Oooh good De La Soul reference.

    Tom Waits – Lonely
    Drive By Truckers – Goddamn Lonely Love
    Beatles – Elenor Rigby
    Mountain Goats – Woke Up New
    Jethro Tull – Aqualung
    Rolling Stones – As Tears Go By
    Amy Winehouse – Wake Up Alone

    the entire band that’s called Casiotone for the Painfullly Alone

  6. Marc July 20, 2009 at 2:21 am #

    Beck – Lonesome Tears
    Otis Redding – Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay
    Frank Sinatra – In the Wee Small Hours of the Night
    The Secret Machines – Sad and Lonely
    The Lonely Jew on Christmas – Kyle Broflovski, South Park

    Drew, not that I’m aware of. A google search though produced a Motels song of the same name, but it’s not a cover.

  7. Drewpreme July 20, 2009 at 2:30 am #

    That could be it Marc.

    “No Sunshine” -Bill Withers
    “Drunk By Myself” – Nas
    “Just Dont Wanna Be Lonely” – The Main Ingredient
    “Footsteps In The Dark” – The Isley Brothers

  8. Molly July 26, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    All By Myself, Celine Dion. Duh. And the Clueless scene by the waterfall to accompany it.

  9. Drewpreme July 27, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    *new post please!!!!!!!!*

  10. Claire July 27, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m writing it by hand!

    • Marc July 27, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

      How are we supposed to read it, Claire? The whole world knows your handwriting is illegible.

Go ahead, say it.

