This Week in Janice: Reader Feedback

11 May

I have three backlogged posts, one featuring Janice, one featuring Marc, and one featuring a new character who has known me longer, and better, than pretty much anyone. (Well, except Janice.) Marc and Molly are being all cranky about not having his Either/Ors up yet—in fact, earlier this evening I received a very graphic text message regarding the source of my recent blog-laziness, to which I took great offense—but you know what? I spent all day today hungover volunteering at a soup kitchen and there’s not a damn thing they can do about it. I thought about posting Marc’s stuff, but then I received these two emails from Janice and they were too good, I had to put them up ASAP. Sorry, Marc. You still have to wait. Maybe tomorrow.

Background: Before she got old, my mom was really into music. She loved Jimi Hendrix and Pearl Jam and anything featuring a lot of electric guitar. When I was six, I told her I liked the Beatles so she bought me “Revolver.” When I was 11, she came home with Liz Phair and They Might Be Giants CDs because she’d read an article about how they were the “it” bands played on college radio stations. One could argue that it’s inappropriate to give a 6th grader an album that contains a song called “Fuck and Run,” but then one clearly doesn’t know my mother.

To this day, I’m missing two Wilco albums because she stole them.

Janice gets her make-up done

Janice gets her make-up done

Subj: c&m blog question

Hi Hon-Out of boredom,and because my TV is Broken,the dog is asleep,and I am out of books, I went on your blog and I am curious–How do you 2 do those link things? It was great!-I was just able to listen to 4 Lady GaGa tunes from your blog, which was nice, since I never heard of her-but I didn’t care for her.) Does that “Word Press thingey” do that automatically? Write about MORE MUSIC so I can search for new music for myself please??? Miss Gag-me seems artificial and contrived, I don’t think she writes these lyrics herself, bet she is just a singer, and didn’t she get in trouble with The Italians for that “Eh Eh” video? I would have found it offensive, if I were so ethnically sensitively inclined. You were wondering why they still make music videos- obviously for You Tube- MTV must be tres passe. Showing your age, kiddies! Post some “Hard Pop” for your ol’ Mom please- this month, I like PINK. And Mrs. Agulier (SP?)(who ought to sue GaGa for image rip off.And platinum hair bleach rip off too.) This is only the 2nd time I have looked at your blog- If you do not want me to start supervising your play, Send me presents!!! Take care, Love, MOM (Also, why did I get bounced to some strange “other blog” dated 2006 when I tapped some pink line that I thought you might have written? That was weird.And you never answer my”internet questions” so I bet you don’t know either! Huh.)

Subj: more on music

I forgot- didn’t like the Beyonce song you mentioned, or the video that went with it-that was why I went on to Miss GaGa. But did you notice the white costume Beyonce had on in the video- reminded me of Sharon Stone in “BASIC INSTNCT”-posture too-think it was a subtle reference-Cool- My question is: Is Beyonce’s Mom still dressing her? take care again, GO TO BED! Love, MOM

8 Responses to “This Week in Janice: Reader Feedback”

  1. Marc May 11, 2009 at 5:16 am #

    I’m holding your mix CD hostage Claire.

    Or I’m equally lazy and haven’t sent it out yet. Janice is better than me anyways.

    • Molly May 11, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

      Oh Janice just made my Monday.

    • Molly May 11, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

      “I would have found it offensive, if I were so ethnically sensitively inclined”

      • Claire May 11, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

        she and i once got into a huge fight because i could not convince her that ‘oriental’ was no longer the PC term when referring to people of Asian heritage.

    • Marc May 11, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

      Did you know my brother and I had that exact same argument with my dad? And he STILL refers to his asian grad students as oriental!

      • Claire May 12, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

        to their faces?!?!

      • Marc May 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

        This I do not know, and I’m a little scared to ask quite frankly.

  2. Drewpreme May 11, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    Write… More… About… Music…

    *hint*
    *ahem*
    *throat clear*

    Claire. I’m taking your mom to the “Wonder-FULL” party this weekend.

Go ahead, say it.

