By default, I am our weblog’s sports expert. My apologies in advance.

24 Mar

Recently I’ve become, shall we say, disillusioned with journalism and any future career I may have in it, which apparently involves Twitter. (Claire, on the other hand, is already headed for at least one lawsuit Pulitzer). Which is why last night, instead of writing for the best economy site in the world, I spent hours watching old ESPN “This is Sportscenter” commercials. I love everything about these commercials, even when I don’t get them or when the audio doesn’t quite match up to the video. I have concluded that coming up with them is the best job ever (aside from Tim Geithner’s, obvi).

And so our weblog’s first list commences.

Top 5 “This is Sportscenter” commercials:

#5 – Andy Roddick Nickname. Stu’s smirk at the end is perrrrrfect.

#4 – LeBron’s Chair. Love LeBron. Love this. Also, in my mind this is the kind of chair Claire sits in at Time.

#3 – Betrayal, featuring Big Papi. Even though I hate the Red Sox with the passion of a thousand BNT guidos, this one is great. (P.S. the seventh commenter deserves a slow death for being so humorless.)

#2 – Going Up? with The New Jersey Devil. So simple. So perfect. Thank you, Tyler.

#1 – Talent Search with Bill Bradley

This one is so good I refuse to post the grainy YouTube version so watch it here. Politics, writing jokes, sports, DNC jabs…the only thing missing is Jeff Francoeur.

I could easily expand this list to 10 or even 20, but I won’t. Instead, I will use clever linkage in a paragraph of analysis to get my other favorites in. These commercials don’t just speak to sports junkies or people who love big names like Tiger Woods. There’s something for everyone: Monkeys! Richard Simmons! Who doesn’t not love a good double negative joke?! And if longevity is the true sign of humor, some of these are hilarious.

6 Responses to “By default, I am our weblog’s sports expert. My apologies in advance.”

  1. Drewpreme Born Physical God Allah March 24, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    Nothing generates commentary like a top-## list.

    Drewpreme’s honorable mentions:

    Kevin Garnett & Brandi Chastain…

    Chad Ocho Cinco’s Endzone Celebration Brainstorming Meeting…

    The Brothers Manning on the ESPN Tour…

    Kobe & Keyshawn being swagger schooled….

    The Greg Oden Ad Campaign – (*Not a SC commercial but for ESPN The Magazine)

  2. Molly March 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    YES! Best part of Brothers Manning is the tour guide’s speech in the background: “So, this is the hallway that connects all the rooms. If you need to get from one to another you use it.”

  3. KnowStradamus March 25, 2009 at 3:03 am #

    This is only tangentially related, but I think you’ll find it of interest:

  4. Marc March 25, 2009 at 4:09 am #

    While your selections are all splendid, I must object to any list that does not include awkward dancing by awkward people.

  5. Molly March 25, 2009 at 4:14 am #

    Marc,

    I hear you loud and clear. It’s tough bearing the brunt of the sports workload around here, and sometimes people like Gheorghe Muresan fall through the cracks. Never again though, and that’s a promise.

  6. Drewpreme March 25, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    I hear that Molly cries every time she watches “My Giant”…

Go ahead, say it.

